athome A-List Awards FAQ

What is the A-List Awards?
The A-List Awards is athome magazine’s premier interior design, architecture and landscape design competition recognizing and celebrating excellence in residential and commercial design.

Who is eligible to enter a project in the A-List Awards?
Interior design, architecture and landscape design professionals with projects in Connecticut OR firms based in Connecticut are eligible to enter in any or all of our 17 categories (see list of categories below). Residential and commercial projects are eligible for entry.

Can I submit a project that has been previously published and/or has won an industry award?
Yes—a project that has been previously published in a national or regional publication, or one that was selected as a winner or finalist in an industry design competition, is eligible for the A-List Awards.

What do you have to include in your entry?
You must answer a few brief questions regarding your project; contact information for the design professionals involved in the project; a minimum of three (and a maximum of seven) high-resolution photos of your project (300 dpi and at least 5×7); the name of your photographer(s); and the acknowledgement that you have the rights/permission to publish the photos.

What is the entry fee?
An A-List entry is $155 per submission.

How do I enter?
The online application can be accessed by visiting You may enter as many projects as you choose in as many categories as you wish.

What is the deadline to enter the A-List Awards?
The deadline to enter is April 15, 2020. (Yes, we often give ONE extension, but don’t delay!)

How do the A-List finalists get chosen?
All entries will be evaluated by an esteemed panel of all-star judges. Judges are each assigned a range of categories, and they choose their top three picks in each category.

How many A-List finalists are chosen in each category?
Based on scoring from our judging panel, the top three to four projects in each category will be named finalists.

How and when will I know if my project is a finalist?
If your project is a finalist, you will be notified via email by July 1.

When and where do you announce the A-List winners?
A-List finalists are invited to the A-List Awards Gala on Wednesday, September 16, 2020 at the Palace Theatre in Stamford. The celebrity judges in attendance and event sponsors will personally announce the winner of each category.

What type of exposure can I expect to receive before/after the event as a finalist or a winner?
A special A-List program booklet featuring project photos and professional listings for every A-List finalist project will be included in all six of our Moffly publications in September. Finalist and winning projects will then be profiled in athome’s special A-List issue (the November/December issue). We will also list A-List winners and finalists on

What are the categories?
There are 17 categories to enter for the A-List Awards (Note: Moffly Media reserves the right to split categories (i.e., Bath Design may be split into Trad/Classic and Transitional/Modern), combine categories and/or reassign projects to different categories as needed):
1. Bath Design
2. Bedroom
3. Commercial Space: Interior Design + Architecture
4. Dining Room
5. Entryway
6. Kid’s or Teen’s Bedroom
7. Kitchen Design
8. Landscape: Less than 1 acre
9. Landscape: Greater than 1 acre
10. Living Space
11. Modern Architecture
12. Office/Library
13. Play Space (kid or adult)
14. Pool House
15. Renovation (including historical home renovation)
16. Traditional Architecture: Less than 7,000 square feet
17. Traditional Architecture: Greater than 7,000 square feet

Category removal:
After the A-List submission period ends in April, if a category doesn’t have the minimum number of entries we require for healthy competition, the category will be pulled from the A-List Awards and all entrants in that category will be refunded the entry fee.